Royal Lancaster, London
Friday 11 June 2021
OBN Awards 2020
Delivered on Friday 11 June 2021
Further to the recent surge in Covid-19 infection rates and the latest UK Government restrictions, we find ourselves once again unable to deliver the OBN Awards 2020 as planned, in an in-person setting on Thursday 25 February.

We remain committed to delivering the awards as a live in-person event, and have therefore booked Friday 11 June 2021 as the new date for the event to take place.

There will be no change to the venue, with the awards taking place in the spacious Nine Kings Suite at the Royal Lancaster London.

All elements of the event will remain exactly the same,  with all tickets and sponsorships transferred directly to this date; the
final judging session has taken place and all winner names are being kept safe under lock and key!

Sincere thanks to the OBN Member Network, OBN Awards Entrants and Finalists, Judges, Sponsors and Supporters
for their patience and understanding in these unprecedented times, and we look forward to celebrating with you later in 2021.

About the OBN Awards

The OBN Awards celebrate outstanding achievement across the life sciences industry. During the evening we aim to shine a light on companies at all stages of development, recognising inspirational leadership, exciting innovation, novel and exciting approaches to unmet clinical need, outstanding company progression and the delivery of real-life tangible results.

We also aim to recognise fresh thinking when it comes to collaboration and deal-making as well as the critical role that support organisations play in helping the life sciences industry thrive.

The 12th Annual OBN Awards will be hosted in the Nine Kings Suite at Royal Lancaster, London - just a short walk from Paddington Station, so well located for guests arriving from Oxford, Cambridge and across the UK.

The evening will start at 19.00 with a drinks reception, followed by a three-course meal, interspersed with the presentation 13 Awards categories - 12 orginial and a new Best Covid-19 Response award announced in January 2021.

The evening will hosted by Declan Curry and will feature an inspirational keynote from a life sciences industry leader. 

After the awards presentation finishes at 10.30pm, they’ll be plenty of time to network and celebrate with colleagues until the bar closes at 12am.

The Royal Lancaster has been awarded a COVID-19 Industry Standard Certificate, in partnership with the National Tourist Organisations of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.  Please click this link to view.

To ensure social distancing, all tables will seat a maximum of 5 guests, with groups of 10 split over two adjacent tables.

For a full break down of all measures that will be in place at the venue and implemented by the organisers, please email
2020 Judging Panel
John Harris
Piers Scrimshaw-Wright
CEO, The Oxford Science Park
Jonathan Rohll
Head of Business Information, OBN
David Carter
Reader in Biomedical Science, Oxford Brookes University
David Browning
CEO, Fixed Phage
Kath Mackay
Managing Director, Alderley Park
Paul Edwards
Managing Partner - Global Healthcare, Horton International
Richard Hebdon
Head of Health & Medicine, Innovate UK
Peter Hamley
CSO, Samsara Therapeutics
Nick Lewis
Founding Partner & Chairman, Downing
Carlos Pittol
Director, Clubb Capital
Barbara Ghinelli
Director, Harwell Campus Business Development & Clusters
Ian Oliver
Partner, BDO
Huw Jones
CEO, Chronos Therapeutics
Louise Sutton
Regional Manager, Fisher Scientific
Peter Jackson
Executive Director, The AMR Centre
Colin McCall
Partner, Taylor Wessing
John Chaddock
VP Head of Neuroscience & Site Head, Ipsen
Matthew Duchars
Claire Shingler
Business Manager, BioEscalator
Ashley Box
Director - Business Development, Thermo Fisher Scientific
Rhiannon Turner
Partner & Patent Attorney, Greaves Brewster
Sue Staunton
Managing Partner, James Cowper Kreston
Jigna Patel
Key Account Manager - Biotech & Consortia, Merck
Prof John Catravas
Biotech Specialist, Virginia Beach Bio
Linda Bradley
Director - Worldwide Business Development Pharmaceuticals R&D, GSK
Sian Gill
Partner, Venner Shipley
Laura Ferguson
Associate Director, AstraZeneca
Maureen Higgins
Executive Director - Operations, Europe, Precision for Medicine Group
Event Host

Declan Curry, journalist, has been writing and speaking about business and the economy for over 20 years.

He was most recently the presenter on 'On the Money' - a weekly business and workplace programme on BBC 5 Live and occasionally the presenter on 5 Live's afternoon news programme 'Drive' where he's was also business presenter.  He presented the business debate programme 'Show Me The Money' on the BBC News Channel. 

Prior to this he presented the BBC's "Working Lunch" business programme, which he co-presented with Naga Munchetty. He also presented business news "Breakfast" on BBC One and BBC News 24 reporting each morning from the studios of the London Stock Exchange, covering business, the economy, the workplace and personal finance. He interviewed chief executives, trade union leaders, stock market watchers and economists, along with individual workers and investors. He also broadcast his own personalised reports on the stock market and investing.

Please click here for Declan Curry’s full bio.
Venue   Contact    
Royal Lancaster London,
Lancaster Terrace,
W2 2TY
  General Enquiries
T: +44 (0)1235 420870

OBN (UK) Ltd | 5F Park Square | Milton Park | Abingdon | Oxfordshire | OX14 4RR 
©2020 All Rights Reserved. OBN (UK) Ltd. is a Limited Company Registered In England & Wales, Company No. 06618658. VAT No. 935 2567 09
Processing. Please wait.